Excess for Stolen Car

Excess for Stolen Car

 

My car was stolen and my Insurer AAMI charged me Excess as the police could not find the thief. I am sure this is the case with most car thefts. But, i don’t see why I should pay the excess. After reviewing the terms of my policy, it is not clear and in my opinion and i am within my right to get this excess refunded.. I been complaining to AAMI about this and all i have got is delayed communication and managed to escalate

What a load of crap this is, i complained on the day of my claim and because of the delayed tactics by AAMI, they are delaying it even more..

Here is the response:

 

Refer to your concerns regarding your claim. It is my role as a Dispute Resolution Officer to review your concerns in accordance with AAMI’s Internal Dispute Resolution (IDR) process.

 

I acknowledge that you are asking that the excess is waived for this claim. As part of the review process, information regarding the matter has been requested from the relevant department. Once this has been received, I will consider this information, along with any information you have provided. If you wish to supply further information in support of your claim, I can be contacted on 03 86819652 or you can contact my office on 1300 240 437 (9 am – 5 pm EST Monday to Friday), or via email at idr@aami.com.au.

 

At this stage, I anticipate that my review will be finalised by Thursday 14 January 2016. The outcome of my review will be issued to you in writing. If you are happy for communication from the Internal Dispute Resolution Department to be sent to you by email, please confirm by return email or phone call.

 

I must also confirm that as the Australian Securities and Investments Commission (ASIC) 45 day timeframe has expired since you made the complaint to AAMI, you are entitled to apply to the Financial Ombudsman Service (the FOS). Please contact me if you would like to discuss this further.

 

FOS is available to consumers whose disputes fall within its Terms of Reference. The FOS is an independent external dispute resolution scheme approved by ASIC. AAMI is a member of this scheme and we agree to be bound by its determination about a dispute. Their contact details are:

 

Financial Ombudsman Service

GPO Box 3

MELBOURNE  VIC  3001

 

Telephone: 1300 780 808

Facsimile: (03) 96136399

Website: www.fos.org.au

Email: info@fos.org.au

 

 

Yours sincerely

 

 

 Katie Rutherford

 Dispute Resolution Officer, Internal Dispute Resolution, Suncorp

 

Phone +61 (03) 86819652 Facsimile 1300316047 IPC 3PI338

PO Box 14180 Melbourne City Mail Centre  VIC 8001

Leave a Reply

